Categories
Short story

The Spirit of Valentine

“Oh My God, I cannot believe that he asked you”

“I know. I feel so bad saying no. He’s kind of cute”

“He’s not your type”

“Valentine is not about your type. Presents are what is important”

“Then go and change your mind”

“Never. Plus, I heard Bryan wants to ask me. He’s filthy rich so I would definitely get a lot of presents”

“You lucky b***h”. I watch my two friends squeal as they bask on the storm that was about to plague everyone tomorrow. It felt like a terrible disaster that people always anticipated. There would be a lot of crying, laughter, surprise, betrayal, heartbreak; the list was endless.

“Sola!” I jump immediately as my books land on the floor with a thud.

“Yeah. Whats up?” I ask as I bend to gather my things.

“Why are you so spaced out? Thinking about someone?”

“I don’t think about boys all the time, Natasha”

“What else would you think about?” I sigh as Patricia giggles beside her. “Anyway, do you have a valentine yet?”

“No”

“Why?”

“Because I don’t?”

“Don’t worry. Someone will come soon”, Patricia butts in. Like that ever happens

“Probably not”

“But this is our first valentine in university. We have to get you a date”. You mean set me up with someone you think I would find interesting but I don’t, I thought to myself but shut up.

“Sure. I’m going to the student center. I need junk food”. They wave at me and continue their discussion about tomorrow. Natasha and Patricia always get asked out by many guys for valentine. Even when they turn them down, they still get presents for them. Most times, I see the pity in their eyes. It got so bad that they each dropped a gift on my bed in SS3 and pretended that I had a secret admirer. I knew it was them but I still appreciated it. They may sound shallow at heart but I wouldn’t trade them for anyone else.

Even as I begin MY lonely walk to the joyous shawarma that I was about to consume, I could notice the change of atmosphere; guys hunched together like they are planning some kind of gesture; a girl on the phone, probably wondering why her boyfriend has gone AWOL the day before valentine; a couple planning what they would do tomorrow. It felt like I was watching a movie. I almost felt sorry for myself until I could smell the hot tasty chicken that was about to enter my mouth. I quickly order and in about five minutes, I began to consume the ever-loving shawarma. We should thank God every day for such culinary skills.

“You eat like its your last food ever”. I stop munching mid-way and look up to see Ryker looking at me skeptically. I stare back at him with the same intensity until I couldn’t take it anymore.

“And?”

“Nothing. You just seem to rush it”

“I’m not. Shawarma is life” I look at him, not caring if I come off as a creep. Ryker has always been a mystery to me. He always seemed to disappear before anyone could have a conversation with him. He was one of the finest guys in school but his attitude made girls not to be bother with him. And did I mention that he is extremely rude.

“You chew with no class”. See what I mean.

“Thanks Ryker. I’ll write that down in my ‘how to become a lady’ book”. I notice his lips twitch for a while which makes me confused. Was he trying not to smile?

“So why is Rude Ryker talking to me today.”

“Rude Ryker?”

“Yup”

“I don’t know. I was looking for someone”

“Natasha and Patricia are in class. If you’re planning to ask them on a date tomorrow, I suggest you spare yourself the embarrassment. Just give them a present like every other guy”. When I notice the silence, I look up to see a very confused Ryker.

“Who is Natasha and Patricia?”. I think an explosion went off in my head.

“This just became awkward. I thought they were the one’s you were looking for”

“No. I’m looking for my best friend, Logan”

“Ah. How very convenient. Sorry about that. It’s just…”

“Guys use you to get to your friends”

“Yeah. I guess the habit stuck”

“You’re Sola, right?”

“You know my name but not theirs”

“I’ve seen you around a few times”. Another silence followed and before I could reconsider…

“Do you want to go see a movie tomorrow?” He seemed taken aback by the question.

“Why?”

“I’m not sure. To know you better, I guess”

“You may not enjoy my company”

“I’ll take my chances”

“I’m a creep”

“So I’ve heard”

“Tomorrow is valentine”

“So?”

“Is this like a valentine date?”

“Whatever you want to call it”

“But you don’t like me”

“For me, I don’t think it’s a chance to get down with someone you like or to receive presents. To me, valentine is like the leeway to get to know someone for whom they are. Show them that they can be accepted no matter how they are or what they look like. Let’s just say I’m curious about you”. He stares at me intently like I was bluffing.

“I’m very rude”

“I can take it”

“I don’t do valentine”

“It’s your lucky day then”

“3o’clock?”

“3o’clock it is”. And that my friend is how you get swept away by the spirit of valentine. Isn’t he amazing?

By lonelyheart

The more lonely I get, the easier it is for me to write my story

5 replies on “The Spirit of Valentine”

Leave a comment